Skip to content

My Chemical Romance, Cardiff International Arena

February 22, 2011


My Chemical Romance are a band I have loved for a long time. I first saw them supporting Taking Back Sunday and it still seems crazy to me that they’ve been selling out arenas for years now. The show would have been made a whole lot better in my opinion if they’d have had a different support band, having to suffer through The Blackout and their ridiculous shout of ‘This songs dedicated to all the girls here, because they’re all fucking liars’ did not really get me, personally in the mood to see one of the best live bands going, however as soon as they stepped on stage all thoughts of any other bands hastily left my mind as the spoken word intro to ‘Na Na Na’ pumped through the speakers to a tumultuous roar of screams that grew so loud they almost drowned out any sound from the stage.

My Chemical Romance never fail to put on a good show, which is evidenced by the fact that this will mark the eighth time I’ve seen them, and I wouldn’t keep coming back if there wasn’t something special that happens on that stage. The charisma of Gerard Way is undeniable, and even a photograph of him on the big screens beside the stage produce ear shattering screams. He commands the stage effortlessly, playing the part of the showman with ease. This is a band who inspire legions of obsessive fans, and they are out in force tonight. The crowd roar the lyrics back at the stage, with no clear difference between the songs from Three Cheers, to the album they are touring in support of, Danger Days (an album that won the top spot in the Albums of 2010 here). The new songs come into their own live and sound even better than they do on record and the new direction spills over into the older songs, with slight chances being made as they played crowd pleasers from previous albums. Highlights from the set were the fast-paced ‘Vampire Money’, a song that even people who claim to hate My Chem seem to enjoy and ‘I’m Not Okay (I Promise) purely for the massive jump in volume and passion that came from the crowd as they shouted along with the words at the top of their voices and I have no doubt that many throats will be in dire need of relief after tonight, mine included. There were a few notable omissions from the set list tonight, namely ‘Our Lady of Sorrows’ and ‘Vampires Will Never Hurt You’ the two tracks from Bullets that have been played at the other dates on the tour. They put on an exceptionally good show as expected but I can’t help thinking that it would have just kicked it up a notch if they’d have played those two tracks from Bullets, if only as a small nod to how they started, if only to show how far they’ve come.

My Chemical Romance play the shockwaves NME awards tomorrow (Wednesday 23rd February) to be in with a chance of winning two tickets comments on their status on their Facebook page here

Set List

Look Alive, Sunshine (Intro)
Na Na Na (Na Na Na Na Na Na Na Na Na)
Give ‘Em Hell, Kid
Planetary (GO!)
You Know What They Do To Guys Like Us In Prison
SING
Vampire Money
Mama
The Only Hope For Me Is You
Summertime
I’m Not Okay (I Promise)
Famous Last Words
DESTROYA
Welcome To The Black Parade
Teenagers
Helena
Cancer

Encore:

Bulletproof Heart Play Video

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

