Skip to content

Top 10 for 2010

January 11, 2011
by

I have been convinced by Julie to follow in her footsteps and compose my own top 10 albums of the year.  My understanding is that I have to do this in order for the blog to continue,  as end of year lists are required by law.

Without further ado, my list is as follows:

LCD Soundsytem - This Is Happening1 . LCD Soundsystem – This is Happening

The 3rd and apparently last album from James Murphy’s LCD Soundsystem, this for me was the album I spent the  year listening to. I drove up and down the country with this more or less permanently in my CD player. Tracks such as ‘You Wanted a Hit’, ‘Dance Yrself Clean’ & ‘Drunk Girls’ are all something special.

The Indelicates - Songs for Swining Lovers

2 – The Indelicates – Songs for Swining Lovers

The Indelicates only truly came to my attention in 2010 and I’m very thankful that they did. This album is witty and dark and doesn’t make a misstep. With a dark cabaret style, they could be compared stylistically somewhat to The Dresden Dolls. The Indelicates differ in that Simon and Julia Indelicate share vocal duties on the album. The swapping of vocal duties has a nice back and forth to it, and on the songs where they duet I really enjoy the juxtaposition of male and female vocals. Special love for the track ‘Your Money’ and the 1984 reference.

3 – Los Campesinos! – Romance is Boring

Good work, Los Campesinos! This album is pretty great. Whilst many people I know are seemingly put off of Los Campesinos! because of Gareth’s voice, or simply because they went to university with the band I for one am a big fan, and this album is my favourite thing they have done to date.  It sounds trite to say, but I think the reason I can get behind this album is it speaks to me in the place in life I find myself at the moment. The timing of this album may have a lot to do with why I think it’s so good, and it might now have featured in my top 10 a couple of years previously, or a couple of years in to the future. That is not to say however, that this album is without merit as that would be ridiculous. There are some fantastic songs here, whilst non of them as poppy sounding as anything off the first album, this is a very natural progression sound wise and the song writing and musicianship of the band has only improved over the years.  Check out ‘Romance is Boring’, ‘These Are Listed Buildings’ & ‘(Plan A)’ are all a good place to start with this.

 And the rest….

Arcade Fire – The Suburbs

Sleigh Bells – Treats

Yeasayer – Odd Blood

The Hold Steady – Heaven Is Whenever

Kanye West – My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

Belle & Sebastian – Write About Love

Of Montreal – False Priest

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

