Skip to content

New Arcade Fire Material

June 26, 2010

With Arcade Fire’s 3rd album close to being released on August 2nd a couple of tracks have been released. I must say, I’m pleasantly surprised.

So far I’ve had the chance to listen to both singles from the double A sided ‘The Suburbs/Month of May’ and I can’t get enough of either of them. After the frankly disappointing ‘Neon Bible’ I felt like Arcade Fire had lost some of their lustre, but this has most definitely restored that in my eyes.  Don’t get me wrong, I liked ‘Neon Bible’, it just didn’t live up to the standard set by their wonderful first album ‘Funeral.’

‘The Suburbs’ is an emotionally charged, country rock tinged slice of music.

‘Month of May’ draws from punk, and is unlike anything else in The Arcade Fire’s back catalogue.

Also floating around are album tracks ‘Ready to Start’ & ‘We Used To Wait’, both of which are also very strong.  Having heard these four songs it has left me excited for the release of the new album and the prospect of seeing them performing these tracks live in the near  future.

Leave a Reply

